Recognizing the sensitivity to gluten, as well as its possible consequences, celiac disease is not easy, especially in the early stages, if you ignore some of the symptoms. Medical tests know how often make mistakes. Unfortunately, the standard medical tests on gluten are not precise enough, and people who are sensitive to gluten still suffer from various problems.
People often say “it’s all in your head” if the tests show negative. But conventional blood test to gluten sensitivity requires only one of the six polypeptides in a row.
However, there are five more: agglutinin, gliteomorfin, gluteinin, prodinorfin and omega-gliadin. And only one of them, or a combination of them, may cause reactions to wheat if one is sensitive to gluten.
Symptoms of sensitivity, unfortunately, are not clear enough to be able to isolate and can be attributed to a variety of other illnesses. Even those found to have a gluten sensitivity or celiac disease show various symptoms. Therefore, it is quite a complicated issue.
1. It is obvious that there will be gastrointestinal symptoms: problems with the stomach -digestion problems. Among them, the following are possible: gas, bloating, upset stomach, abdominal cramps, constipation or diarrhea.
2. The headaches and / or migraines.
3. Fibromyalgia is not a disease, it’s syndrome. This means that you have marks and pain in muscles and connective tissues – this is the meaning of the word, as well as diagnosis (fibro: connective tissue, myo: muscle, algos: pain).
4. Emotional problems including constant irritability and sudden, irrational mood swings.
5. Neurological problems, including dizziness, problems with balance and peripheral neuropathy that affects the peripheral nerves, leading to pain, weakness, numbness of the limbs.
How to make a final decision
Try to keep it 60 days without gluten. If you feel that you are unable to do so, it could mean that you are addicted to gluten. Paradoxically, but we are often dependent on the things that we are allergic.
What should be excluded
Gluten-free diet excludes: wheat, rye, barley, spelled, kamut, oats and triticale – these are cereals containing gluten. You can consume: rice, quinoa, buckwheat and sorghum – these grains are gluten-free. Fast foods almost always contain gluten with some form, unless they are emphatically declared as “gluten-free”. It is best not to buy processed food and salad dressing.